Russian Reading Challenge

As if I didn’t have enough to do already, I’ve decided to join the Russian Reading Challenge (well, reading Russian literature is a pretty natural thing anyway) – and will crosspost reviews here and there. I’ve sorted through my Russian novel collection and chosen 14 books to read (yes, I doubt I will too), none of which I think have been reviewed there yet. There’s also another 2 which I’m already reading – Yevtushenko’s Wild Berries and Nadezhda Mandelstam’s Hope Against Hope – along with a few collections of short stories.

I’ve had a rationalisation of my books and reading, the consequence of which is: I’ve decided to give up on another 4 books which I’m reading but not in the least enjoying; and I’ve sorted out a further 59 books (some read, some unread) to give away to the charity shop.

The Russian books are:

  • Petersburg, by Andrei Bely
  • Childhood, Boyhood, Youth & Divine and Human by Leo Tolstoy
  • Mary (and perhaps Despair), by Vladimir Nabokov
  • The Heart of a Dog, by Mikhail Bulgakov
  • Hurrambad, by Andrei Volos
  • The Eternal Husband & The Gentle Maiden & The Landlady, by Fyodor Dostoevsky
  • Summer in Baden-Baden, by Leonid Tsypkin
  • The Little Angel, by Leonid Andreyev
  • Novel with Cocaine by M Ageyev
  • Envy, by Yuri Olesha
  • Nikolai Negorev, by Ivan Kushchevsky
  • The Yawning Heights, by Alexander Zinoviev
  • Tevye the Dairyman, by Sholem Aleichem

Plus short stories by Ivan Bunin, Isaac Babel, Mikhail Zoshchenko, Valery Ronshin & Varlam Shalamov.

Leave a Reply

