Short Stories

Struggling to end a lot of novels, I thought I’d take a break today

and read some short stories instead. I have, on my shelf, two big stacks of books of short stories, probably about fifty in total, and when I feel in

the mood to read them, I take a big pile of books (usually about ten or so), set them down next to my chair, and then go through the lot of them,

reading one story from each. This usually provides me with an interesting melange of styles; – and indeed, of periods and countries too.

Today,

I read:  Ring Lardner, Antonio Lopez-Ortega, I L Peretz, Villiers de l’Isle Adam, Lucian, Clarice Lispector, Michel Tournier, Jorge Luis Borges,

Pierre Louys and Juan Carlos Onetti.

Leave a Reply

