Old Spanish-Lang Lit Project

I’ve been doing this Spanish-language project for a while, based on this list of best novels in the last 25 years: – the top ten at least:

  1. Love in the Time of Cholera, by Gabriel García Márquez
  2. Feast of the Goat, by Mario Vargas Llosa
  3. The Savage Detectives, by Roberto Bolaño
  4. 2666, by Roberto Bolaño
  5. News from the Empire, Fernando del Paso
  6. A Heart So White, by Javier Marías
  7. Bartleby & Co, by Enrique Vila-Matas
  8. Santa Evita, by Tomás Eloy Martínez
  9. Tomorrow in the Battle Think On Me, by Javier Marías
  10. El Desbarrancadero, by Fernando Vallejo

As I may have remarked before, back when I started this project, only 6 of these titles had been translated into English; – now, it’s nine. I’ve so far read 4 and 2 halves. – Anyhow, I’ve just received my copy of del Paso’s News from the Empire, so that will be next up, followed by The Savage Detectives. I’ll read both as part of my commitment this year to read some longer novels.

OK, I haven’t read it yet, but it’s been a tiny disappointment that del Paso’s novel has disappeared without trace in English translation. Compare him to Bolaño! – Oh, I know – you say – Bolaño is 3rd and the 4th, while del Paso is only 5th. But all the same…. – Even the Complete Review don’t have a review!!! (though they do review his only other novel to make it into English, which I regard as a fair achievement).

3 thoughts on “Old Spanish-Lang Lit Project

  1. have you read 2666 yet? i’m reading it now, it’s pretty good. i can’t put my finger on my exact feelings, but that’s sort of the whole Bolano effect anyway. also, it seems rather parodic in light of his posthumous mythologization, which in turn makes it feel Borgesian in its own way…

  2. No, I haven’t even bought it yet. – I am impressed that my local tube station has had an advert for it up for the past four months (or so). – Foreign literature advertising?! Weird.

  3. well, it is all the rage. though that’s not why i’m reading it, of course. i just got it for a deal i couldn’t pass up at…Borders.

Leave a Reply

