Books Read – December 2010

Well, in a manner of speaking I finished 100 books this year – but only counting in the short ones. To be honest, I don’t think I want to succeed; it pleases me much more to narrowly fail. (One of my New Year’s resolutions is to use more split infinitives).

Small reviews here (slightly better than usual, I thought – the reviews, I mean).

Obscurer writers:

  • Charles Perrault – I don’t know, have people heard of him? – I hadn’t, but then I live in a strange, enclosed world. Certainly not as famous as the Brothers Grimm or Hans Christian Andersen, but he first wrote down the following tales: Bluebeard, Puss in Boots, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Little Red Riding Hood, Little Thumb (basically Hansel and Gretel).  I mean, if the Brothers Grimm came out with their works today, you’d just point up the plagiarism.
  • László Krasznahorkai – Hungarian writer, actually still alive, please see preceding post.
  • Vicente Blasco Ibañez – Spanish writer, from Valencia, largely around the turn of the c19th/c20th – apparently not obscure at all, since Mishari’s heard of him. He seems to have been quite well known in the English-language world back in the 20s/30s – but, naturally, no longer.
  • A Czechoslavak Jew living in Prague in the 1920s and writing in German – you must be talking about Hermann Ungar! (Wikipedia is low on information).
Leave a Reply

