Books Read – July 2011

Mini-reviews here.

I almost read a lot more, but it’s the highest monthly total this year (and some long-ish books in it too).

Quite a few notable (but less noted) writers this month:

  • Régis Jauffret is a French writer, who didn’t have an English Wikipedia page last time I looked, but does now (it’s highly informative). His French page isn’t that much more detailed. None of his books has been translated into English (to my knowledge); and I wouldn’t hold out much hope of this changing. Quite avant-garde, but also quite easy to read in French.
  • Olive Moore is perhaps what we should call a Virginia Woolf clone – same time, same style – and well worth reading.
  • Wyndham Lewis – Vorticist, painter, hater of artistic groupings. No, he’s not so obscure, but I just thought I mention, if you click here, you can read his marvellous and crazy pamphlet Blast. (I read it once in my university library, in a much better preserved edition than this).
  • Álvaro Mutis is a Colombian poet, friend of García Márquez, and writer of the character-travelling-along-a-river genre of story (his was the original idea for The General in his Labyrinth, which he donated to García Márquez).
  • Ricardo Güiraldes is a much-respected Argentinian writer of the early c20th, whom no one’s really heard of in the English-speaking world.
  • Larry Niven is an interesting American SF-writer.
2 thoughts on “Books Read – July 2011

  1. Reading Maqroll currently, started it while on a trip to the Caribbean, seemed appropriate. Although, I didn’t have any failed business ventures or shady dealings with prostitutes. I’m really enjoying it, especially as a sort of halfway point between the over-the-top maravilloso and the dreamy Bolano. I do like a droll writer.

    Oh, and sorry I haven’t been around of late…

  2. Yes, I was wondering where you’d got to (again).

    I must re-read the first two stories; – the third story kept making constant reference to them, but I’d almost completely forgotten what they were about.

    I hadn’t read any Onetti before I’d read the first two stories, but reading the third story it did remind me a lot of the sense of inevitable failure you find in Onetti.

Leave a Reply

