One From The Set (Some Stats)

It’s frustrating when you’ve been collecting things, and you just have one missing. I’ve been collecting American States. – That is, I’ve been collecting American States from which people have visited my website. I’ve got 49 now, since someone finally visited my website from West Virginia (or 51 if you include the District of Columbia and that curious state “Not Set”), but I’ve still got one missing. I’m sure you can guess which. I’ll leave the answer till the end though – so you can have some time to think.

Adjusting, as best I can, for the massive distorting factor of the same people constantly visiting the blog, these are the top ten states:

  1. New York
  2. California
  3. Iowa
  4. Massachusetts
  5. Texas
  6. Florida
  7. Illinois
  8. Virginia
  9. Pennsylvania
  10. Michigan

Adjusting for the further massive distorting factor of population, these are the top ten states:

  1. Iowa
  2. District of Columbia
  3. New York
  4. Massachusetts
  5. Nevada
  6. Oregon
  7. Maryland
  8. Vermont
  9. Minnesota
  10. South Dakota

I shan’t put in the paltry figures. (Every other website always has better figures than mine!). And I’ve no idea what any of that means; but the second list I find more satisfyingly esoteric (perhaps it just reveals which states keep switching people’s IP addresses). And it’s clearly more interesting than writing about books.

The missing state is, of course, Alaska. – Anybody fancy a trip up there?

The US and the UK are constantly exchanging the lead too for monthly visits. The US today are one visit ahead. Very exciting.

7 thoughts on “One From The Set (Some Stats)

  1. I’m not sure that all that many Alaskans know how to read, Obooki. On the other hand, they’re good people to know if you want to help prop up a right-wing military dictatorship or to hunt wild animals from helicopters with high-powered guns. P.S. I was born in California, so I think you should move some of my Massachusetts visits/”votes” to the California column because that’s where they’re mentally coming from.

  2. I can’t remember whether it was a book or a film or a documentary or a news item, but I have this story in mind in which some people hire some Alaskans to go bear hunting, and then they get attacked by the bear and one of them killed.

    Yes, adjusting for population – I feel – is to the advantage of the small states, since they benefit from the randomness of it all. California was never going to appear.

  3. “Most puzzling” post. Do you care about stats? Or did I miss some deeper meaning here?
    I visit your blog from 4 different computers, so it’s only me, and not many many visitors from Switzerland.

  4. I like to look at my stats – I find them endlessly fascinating – but they never really change. I get new readers, but I must alienate them at about the same rate.

    Switzerland is 6th in terms of visits since 1/1/10, but only 89.3% of that is you. It still thinks 33% of your visits are new, though. Then Italy is 7th, which seems to be one very quiet Genoese (with only 1.9% new visits).

    To be honest, I don’t have much faith in Google Analytics. The only times I’ve known people have visited my site, I can’t find any trace of them on it.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if only about 8 people visited my site, but they kept moving round the world to confuse me.

  5. I am not familiar with Google Analytics but then I’m not as fascinated as you by stats. It’s a bit like spying on people no? It still sounds relatively accurate. The countries fascinated me in the beginning or to see what posts are translated. I sometimes read the translated versions of my movie posts and it’s hilarious.
    Some things I might not even want to know – like how long it takes people to read a post. I don’t know how you know it’s me when I visit from different computers? OK, mostly I leave a comment.
    I saw a statistic once that I found interesting but can’t find it anymore. It basicall told me that 80 of the visitors on my movie blog just pass through while on the book blog 70% are regular visistor. But then there is certainly a huge demoraphic difference between these groups of visitors.

  6. I can’t be sure it’s you, of course – it’s just, with such low volumes as I receive, almost any city can truthfully be seen as an individual.

    If you’re interesting, clicking on here will show you as much information as can identify you on the internet (without the need of court orders, and that sort of thing).

  7. I know of people who have put something on their computer so they cannot be traced. Yeah, Basel is pretty accurate. There are these live feeds on some sites and they never get it right, from weird reasons it always says Locarno or Bellinzona.

Leave a Reply

