Books Read – July/Aug 13

Books Read (and Films Seen) in the usual place.

Some low scores for classics this month (Kafka, Shakespeare); – perhaps I should get around to writing some posts (Barren Lives, Henry V in particular). Quite a lot of average to good books, I suppose; – there are lots of better books on the left (which for some reason I don’t seem to be getting around to finishing): about 50% of them perhaps in the 8+ category.

As for films, I recognise I’ve been watching too much Hollywood junk of late (I’m thinking I might get rid of my lovefilm subscription); so maybe some more intelligent films for the rest of the year.

2 thoughts on “Books Read – July/Aug 13

  1. I see that you’ve given Barren Lives, which I liked well enough I suppose, the same so-so score that you awarded Anna Karenina, which I’m taking a break from at least partly on account of boredom. Any idea why Tolstoy’s magnum opus is so much more highly regarded by the non-Obooki Prize-awarding parts of the reading public? Other than that hardly anybody’s read Ramos outside of the Portuguese-speaking world?

  2. I think it’s because the Tolstoy is old and boring, and the non-Obookis are old and boring too. (Old and boring like Nabokov, who thought it was the greatest novel ever).

    It does sometimes worry me, comparing the scores I give to books. Is Kafka’s The Trial really worse than Gene Wolfe’s The Fifth Head of Cerberus? Probably not. But it is, according to my scores.

    I really enjoyed some of Barren Lives, particularly the sections from the perspectives of the children and the dog. Otherwise it was in general quite ordinary, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

