Spanish Lit Month

I’ve been digging into the more obscure realms of my bookshelves this evening, trying to see what we can read for Spanish Lit Month (well, the France v Ecuador match wasn’t all that interesting), and came up with the following from which to make a selection (I omit the book names, but let’s say they’re not the most famous ones):

Macedonio Fernández, Eugenio Cambaceres, Abel Posse, Camilo José Cela, Miguel Delibes, Agustín Yáñez, José María Arguedas, Jesús Díaz, Rómulo Gallegos, Rafael Sánchez Ferlosio, Adolfo Bioy Casares, Benito Pérez Galdós, Ramón del Valle-Inclán, Juan José Saer, Josefina Vicens, Juan Benet, Ramón Pérez de Ayala, Julio Cortázar, Juan Carlos Onetti, Alejo Carpentier, Gonzalo Torrente Ballester, Alfredo Bryce Echenique, Juan José Arreola and Ernesto Sabato.

Any preferences? I’ll probably manage about five I imagine – but not if they’re long. And plenty of short stories.

Plus I will be reading Paradiso, by José Lezama Lima, but not getting to (near) the end of it in July.

4 thoughts on “Spanish Lit Month

  1. I’ll give you a tip for one to avoid: Ernesto Sabato’s Abaddón el exterminador (The Angel of Darkness). It starts off quite well, but descends into a mind-numbingly tedious piece of philosophizing crap. I gave up well before the half-way mark. It’s long, as well, so I guess you won’t be drawn to it anyway.

    From your previous remarks on Borges, I’m guessing you won’t much care for The Invention of Morel by Bioy Casares, which is a lot like Borges, only (slightly) longer. Nice to think about after reading, not so fun while reading it.

  2. I have actually read the first 3 or so pages of The Angel of Darkness. The first paragraph is ok. But no, it’s not that book; nor that Bioy Casares. I don’t like things that are like Borges, but longer. In general, they’ve convinced me that Borges’ stories were about the right length. A Michel Butor novel I didn’t finish recently was of this sort, complete with an obsession with forgotten alchemic lore.

  3. Glad to hear you’ll be participating and look forward to seeing what you’ll be reading for the event. We’ve got some crossover on some of (y)our possibilities, with Bioy Casares, Onetti, and Saer being the main three I will probably actually read myself. What’s the Bryce Echenique you have in mind, by the way? I read Un mundo para Julius earlier in the year and liked it quite a bit.

  4. It is indeed that Bryce Echenique, though to be honest he’s one of the least likely for me to read. I read another book by him some years ago, and felt it was average. Saer I’ve been buying a few of recently, so have some choice – it’s a while since I read any.

    To be honest, I’m more inclined towards: Abel Posse (it’s about Aguirre, as in Aguirre, Wrath of God!), Gallegos (who I’ve been meaning to read for ages), Sánchez Ferlosio, Cortázar, Torrente Ballester, Benet and Arreola. With Valle-Inclán also almost certain. Also might have a go at Rafael Chirbes, since he featured so prominently in that best Spanish novels of the last 25 years linked to by winstonsdad, but that would have to be in French.

    (I can keep Macedonio Fernández for September, when you’re reading it).

Leave a Reply

